Faculty of Physics

The Physics Faculty was founded as a “Physics Section” in 1951, and became a Faculty of Physics in 1957. Since then it has awarded some 2100 degree, of them 400 MSc and 220 PhD degrees. Many of the graduates occupy key positions in academy and high-tech industries both in Israel and abroad. Today we have about 600 undergraduate students, 120 MSc students and 60 PhD students.

The faculty consists of 42 researchers working in a broad range of areas. These include:

  • Condensed Matter Physics
  • Statistical Mechanics
  • Particle Physics
  • String Theory
  • Astrophysics and Cosmology
  • Relativity
  • Quantum Theory
  • Quantum Optics
  • Optics and Lasers
  • Physics of Many-Body Systems
  • Chaos
  • Magnetism
  • Low Temperature Physics
  • Mesoscopic Physics
  • Polymer Physics
  • Semiconductor Physics
  • Plasma Physics
  • Surface Physics
  • Superconductivity
  • Mathematical Physics
  • Biophysics
  • Atomic Physics
  • Nanotechnology

MSc program

Candidates for a Master’s degree who have completed a three-year undergraduate program are required to complete 30 credits of course work. Other candidates (such as those who have graduated from a four-year program) will be required to take courses according to their background. Candidates from abroad are required to take a GRE exam.


PhD program

Candidates holding a Master’s degree who have been admitted to the Doctoral program are required to complete a 8 credits of course work, and to engage in research with a supervisor and undergo an examination on the thesis subject, in accordance with Graduate School regulations.

More details

Registration: 972-4-8292693, 972-4-8292739
Faculty of Physics